A Trip to the Irish Wild: Inis Mhór (2014)

‘The timeless waves, bright, sifting, broken glass,
Came dazzling around, into the rocks,
Came glinting, sifting from the Americas

To posess Aran. Or did Aran rush
to throw wide arms of rock around a tide
That yielded with an ebb, with a soft crash?

Did sea define the land or land the sea?
Each drew new meaning from the waves’ collision.
Sea broke on land to full identity.’

~~ Seamus Heaney

It’s been several months since the trip to Inishmore my husband and I went on together with our friends in May. It was supposed to be a trip of pure adventure: cycling the country routes, climbing the rocky hills (on two wheels), enjoying the wilderness and the sea with the freaky waves during the high tide and beautiful golden sunsets. The expectations were set high. I should have remembered, though, that this is Ireland, and you can never rely on weather forecasts here, especially when looking in advance. With over 6 years of experience I should have known better. But ah well…

Our trip started with a crazy trip on ferry. The weather was miserable from the very early morning – it’s been raining almost non-stop, and the ferry departure time was in line with the high tide, but we didn’t know that. Very clever, we took the first two rows of seats in the front part of the boat, and the rest of the trip seemed like we were on rollercoaster. Sometimes the waves were higher than we could see. The boat was thrown from side to side, and I really wished there was a seatbelt of some sort. The sign on the wall before me said No Chewing Gum Allowed. While all chewing gums, we laughed about it in the beginning – no chewing gum allowed to avoid swallowing and choking on it. Later on the way, it didn’t seem funny anymore. I wished I hadn’t had that gum, because I actually was afraid to choke on it. By the time we were half-way through, the ride became even crazier. The screams sounded from everywhere – the French tourists behind us, ladies on the other side of the boat and at the back. Poor children cried, probably feeling nauseous.

Totally out of shape, we were happy to arrive to Inishmore, but soon we were dissapointed to discover that the hotel was not as close to the pier as we thought and we had to walk under the rain for about 20 minutes until we found it. Despite of all our begging, the hotel couldn’t check us in before the check-in time, because it was too busy after a wedding the night before, so we had to change into cycling/hiking gear in the restrooms, leave the bags at the reception and go search for a bike rental shop. What’s the point of sitting in the bar for two hours?

The bikes were easy to find, and they were all good bikes, except for mine. I chose a smaller one so I felt more comfortable in hopping off it in case I couldn’t control it anymore, and I regretted it for the whole trip. By the way, I used to be really good at cycling. I was only four when I learned to ride a two-wheel bike, and in ten years of riding I can’t remember more than 5 falls. And all those five were really silly ones – rode on a boulder while avoiding a puddle, scared of a butterfly, scared of a bee which got caught in my hair… Actually, that’s three falls. But ten years without setting my foot on a pedal can do wonders – apparently, I was scared of everything – cars, pedestrians, other cyclists. Riding downhill on a rocky road turned out to be a real freaking out experience as well as visiting the Wormhole. I wish I had pictures of the Wormhole, but my friend (a photographer, too) and I got really scared at the Wormhole because, again, it was the high tide and the weather was quite stormy. The area is so wild that there was not a soul around us, no reception, the closest houses are a distance away. And the realisation that the waves can rise up to the top of a cliff well above our heads was mortifying.

The weather was real strange those two days – greyish, but okay in the mornings, pouring during the day hours and clear and even sunny, but windy and chilly in the evenings. Both days of our stay we got soaking wet while cycling and had no will to ride the bikes in the evening, so it was perfect time for hiking. The weather changed to a clear and sunny one only when we were on the boat sailing back to Galway.

Despite many drawbacks, it is almost the end of July and I still can’t forget those beautiful landscapes of the largest of Aran Islands. There is so much to see there, and two days (plus bad weather) are not enough to explore it all. We only saw two landmarks – the Wormhole and the Black Fort, but there are also sandy beaches and the fishers’ port that I would love to see. I hope that one day we will go back there and the weather will be nice and summery, the bike I will ride will be good and comfy. Until then I am left with the memories of the island that can almost take you back in time, which makes it impossible to ferget.

01
Nothing can be nicer than an open fire when you’re drenched to the bones and cold after a ride under the pouring rain.
02
Early mornings away from home proved to be excellent for some yoga practice. Namaste
03
The calmness of the sea during the low tide is exceptional in some places. And the pastel colours of the clouded sky reflecting are fascinating to me.
04
I gave my husband the camera to take a picture of me. I thought I’d never get it back (lol). This is only one picture of the many. He made me feel like a model, catching my every step and every move.
05
Tiny flowers growing on the rocks… I guess it’s true that in Ireland anything can grow anywhere.
06
Seeing signs like this one reminds how tuly remote some areas are from the civilization.
07
Typical Aran Islands landscape.
08
Can you imagine how long these walls have been standing there? Personally, I can’t. But we climbed over these walls for shortcuts, and despite the rocks move they still stay in place.

0910

11
The sound of waves crashing is one sound that I would love to live with every day. It makes me feel serene.
12
I wish there was some information, explaining things like this. Was it used for rituals? Or was it place for making a fire and seating around?

1314

15
I suppose this is not old, but it fits well in the surroundings of the Black Fort.
16
The Black Fort.

1718

19
A cold sunset on the cliffs. I love the pastels here too. No colour correction on these pictures.

2021

22
A picture of hubby on our second day, just before attempting a really challenging route to the Wormhole.
23
So far, this is the rockiest region of Ireland I have ever seen.

24

25
On the way to the Wormhole. I lost my sanity shortly after this picture was taken 🙂
26
When you stand beside these cliffs, with the raging ocean on the other side, you understand the power of nature – how mighty and unstoppable it is. We are just tiny humans in this Universe, we think that we rule the world, we build it with our hands and knowledge, but indeed we just adapt to the nature that rules us…
27
Typically for Ireland, the sunny blues came out right after numerous showers.

28

29
The Lucky Star Bar. I wish it was open to see what it’s like inside.
30
Never seen a bank so small 🙂 And oh how I enjoyed seeing the names and signs in Irish! I don’t speak it myself, although I want to learn it, but I love this language!

3132

33
I also love these narrow rural roads. I try imagining what is it like to live in a small and godforsaken place like this.

34

35
One more beautiful evening on a tiny beach only 50 m away from the hotel
36
The only picture of the town centre. I would have never believed if someone told me there was a Caraig Donn store on Inishmore, but here it is!
37
On the pier before departure. As always with the trips, I never want to leave. The only thing that called me home was our daughter whom I missed so much!
38
Rise and Shine – a keyfob that will always bring memories of the trip to the place that I want to go back to.

Leave a Reply

